Has Problogger Been Hacked?

by Brian Clark

I was just over at Darren Rowse’s Problogger leaving a comment, and when I hit send I was redirected to a script-kiddy / hacker page telling me I’d been owned. I didn’t stick around to look more carefully than that.

Now the whole site is broken at the database level (safe mode?).

Anyone know what’s going on?

UPDATE: The b5 guys are on it, main site back but the job boards are “owned” by an alleged political group. Just to clarify, Darren is not hosted with the rest of b5 — he has separate hosting with Rachel Cunliffe and others (who were also partially hit by this hack).

Subscribe to Copyblogger today!

Related Articles

Copyblogger runs on the Thesis Theme for WordPress

Thesis WordPress theme

Thesis is the search engine optimized WordPress theme of choice for serious online publishers. If you’re a blogger who doesn’t understand a lot of PHP, Thesis will give you a ton of functionality without having to alter any code. For the advanced, Thesis has incredible customization possibilities via Thesis hooks.

With so many design options, you can use the template over and over and never have it look like the same site. The theme is robust and flexible enough not only to accommodate a site like Copyblogger, but also to enable the site to run far more efficiently than it ever has before.

{ 1 trackback }

» jobs.problogger.net has been hacked! -- Thatedeguy
August 28, 2006 at 4:36 pm

{ 31 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Ted Demopoulos August 28, 2006 at 2:55 pm

I’m getting an error and it looks hacked.

A script (list of commands) is trying to run as root (superuser, administrator) and is being blocked. Someone may be trying to “unhack” it now.

Little known fact: in another life, I’m a computer security guy, for example last week :)

Let’s hope he he gets up and running quickly!

2 MacStansbury August 28, 2006 at 2:56 pm

Yes.

3 Brian August 28, 2006 at 2:57 pm

Jeez… I wish I would have taken a screenshot of the taunt page I got when I tried the comment, but that type of stuff tends to scare me off!

4 Daniel Goldman August 28, 2006 at 3:12 pm

Yup, it seems like he’s been hacked by some anti-Israel group.

5 Brian August 28, 2006 at 3:46 pm

Where are you getting that from Daniel?

6 Jim Turner August 28, 2006 at 3:58 pm

I was directed their when Aaron linked to the jobs board. Very weird indeed.

7 Jim Turner August 28, 2006 at 3:59 pm

Update: Aaron just commented that the site is hacked and he can’t get in to fix it.

8 Brian August 28, 2006 at 4:03 pm

Do you have a link?

9 Douglas August 28, 2006 at 4:15 pm

Brian: I can second what Jim said. We are aware of this and we are doing everything in our power to rectify the situation.

10 Brian August 28, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Well, everything looks back to normal to me at the site.

I’d be interested to hear the story behind this.

Every blogger’s nightmare.

11 Evan August 28, 2006 at 4:20 pm

It must be something going around today. The designer of Problogger (and Techcrunch) Rachel Cunliffe had her site hacked today. I got a screenshot and apparently some of the pages are still hacked [link].

12 Aaron Brazell August 28, 2006 at 4:23 pm

I have my guesses but won’t share them here. The jobs board is still hacked. The main site seems to be restored. ProBlogger, though a b5 blog, is still hosted on other servers and so the technical staff can’t really fix that.

13 Brian August 28, 2006 at 4:26 pm

Evan, that may be due to Darren and Rachel being on the same server.

14 Jerermy Wright August 28, 2006 at 4:31 pm

As Aaron said, we’re working on this as much as we can. Which isn’t much at this moment, but as soon as Darren’s awake I’m sure Aaron and I will be called in.

15 Brad Isaac August 28, 2006 at 4:33 pm

Sad when people go out of their way to hurt people who are trying to help others.

16 Brian August 28, 2006 at 4:40 pm

Hey Jeremy… yeah, I knew the time in Australia, and figured he doesn’t even know yet.

17 footy August 28, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Looks like everything is ok now..anyone got screenshots?

18 footy August 28, 2006 at 4:49 pm

well..i visited Darren’s other site..and they were indeed hacked..here’s one of them:

http://www.breakingnewsblog.com/printer/

19 Evan August 28, 2006 at 4:56 pm

Footy, go up to my comment i posted screenshots. Or click on my name.

I tried to contact rachel this morning when it happened but I imagine I have no clue what time it is, where she is. :)

Same server.

20 Jeremy Wright August 28, 2006 at 5:45 pm

It’s all sites on the server (not our server, for the record). Looks like there still a few items left to restore, but thankfully this hacker was actually pretty nice about everything :)

21 Jim Turner August 28, 2006 at 5:51 pm

Anyone actually tried to contact this hacker at the address given?

22 Amrit Hallan August 29, 2006 at 8:52 am

The problem there has been there since Friday. I remember trying to post something and the page getting lost every time in depths of inactivity.

23 Anon August 29, 2006 at 12:50 pm

How is this even remotely relevant to me learning how to write better copy? Brian, Brian, Brian. You’re way off-topic.

And before anyone disses me — remember, I come here for one, and only one, thing: to learn how to write better copy. I’ll let Brian expound on why that’s important.

24 Brian August 29, 2006 at 12:59 pm

It’s very relevant to blogging, which is a big part of what this site talks about. I’ve already figured out several security flaws that I corrected myself last night thanks to Darren’s misfortune. But I won’t go off topic enough to explain those to you, since I’m sure better qualified people will be doing that soon.

Sorry you didn’t find it useful, and yet you wasted your precious time to come here and anonymously gripe?

Doesn’t make sense… It’s just so much easier to ignore the post, right?

25 Anon August 29, 2006 at 1:07 pm

Brian, when you make a mistake, the best thing to do is admit it, not deny it and make it worse. This is clutter in my feed reader. It is NOT easy to ignore. I spend a lot of time and energy trying to find undiluted sources of good information without the fluff. It is a very difficult search these days.

I’m a professional software engineer and a security expert. I don’t need or want your thoughts, or anyone else’s on this blog, on security. I go elsewhere for that, and I get it from highly focused sources that don’t talk about other things. I’m interested in your thoughts on good writing, and I want only that.

I’m staying anonymous for good reason, and of course as a security expert I know there’s no such thing as anonymity on the web, but I trust you to protect my identity here.

26 Brian August 29, 2006 at 1:16 pm

You’re safe with me, but I think you’re being a bit egocentric.

If I posted a picture of my cat, I’d apologize.

But I wouldn’t do that.

This blog stays on topic much more than most. I think you can cut me some slack here.

27 Ted Demopoulos August 29, 2006 at 9:07 pm

Then again, one of the foremost security experts in the world, Bruce Schneier, and all around good guy, blogs on squid every Friday on his security blog — go figure?

no one complains - Ok, one confused comment in 8 months

28 PK October 15, 2006 at 7:19 pm

I see that a lot of sites have been taken over by “net_devil”. I clicked onto a site to get some new backgrounds, and saw islamic propaganda, so I replied. Since then, I have been at verbal war with this extremist. He is starting to wear down, as the insulting emails are shorter and fewer.
On the search engines, i have counted about 45 sites hacked. Some are two liners, and some are full of BS posed pictures, with the larger one playing islamic music way after you leave the site.
This in itself a type of terrorism.
Sorry to use so much space, but I just wanted you all to know, some of us are “Spamming”him. (He left 46 identicle emails one day. I left him125.)
klotzstang@aol.com

PS I only use my other computer to fight this guy………………PK

29 Greg October 22, 2006 at 12:09 pm

How do you get your site back? He hacked mine as well.

30 PK May 29, 2007 at 8:45 am

I just cut and pasted his entie website to him, after exchanging several “friendly” emails.
There must have been a virus in his emails, as when I sent them back and he opened them, he cursed me to **** for wiping out his hard drive, saying he was going to put hard hurting on my family. It came from a different IP.
Since then, others have sent his stuff back in an email and he curses thier family and stops the whole thing.
I don’t know how to create or use a virus, but I guess if someone did not block thier own virus, it could affect thier own computer.
By noe, all he does is put a few lines in place of a website, instead of the entire propaganda pages he used to have.

31 PK January 21, 2008 at 1:28 am

I hope you got your site fixed from what “Net_Devil” did. I got more emails, so I took one and emailed it to myself, then severely altered it to reflect the opposite side of things, changed the names of his co-horts into nonsence, and just messed him up.
I noticed the next week that most of the sites were back to normal. I think he may have got caught. It is a stupid way to “educate” webmasters, as he claimed to be doing. All he did was get people mad.
But he is not active, although I believe he used a different name for a while.
The source could have been hit by the military, but he is gone, no more web-jackings.

Leave a Comment

Previous post: Telling People a Story They Want to Hear

Next post: 7 Steps to Creating and Selling a Niche Information Product